Security+ SY0-401 General Information & Characteristics

By | December 12, 2016

Security+ General Information

The CompTIA Security+ Certification is often a first step towards more advanced security certifications.



The CompTIA Security+ certification is a vendor-neutral, internationally recognized credential used by organizations and security professionals around the globe to validate foundation level security skills and knowledge. Candidates are encouraged to use this document to help prepare for CompTIA  security+ SY0-401, which measures necessary skills for IT security professionals. These content examples are meant to clarify the test objectives and should not be construed as a comprehensive listing of all content in this examination. Successful candidates will have the knowledge required to:

• Identify risk
• Participate in risk mitigation activities
• Provide infrastructure, application, information and operational security
• Apply security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity and availability
• Identify appropriate technologies and products
• Troubleshoot security events and incidents
• Operate with an awareness of applicable policies, laws and regulations

EXAM ACCREDITATION: CompTIA Security+ is accredited by ANSI to show compliance with the ISO 17024 Standard and, as such, the exam objectives undergo regular reviews and updates.
EXAM DEVELOPMENT: CompTIA exams result from subject matter expert workshops and industry-wide survey results regarding the skills and knowledge required of an IT professional.


What this information is not

There are no test questions to be found here. All information contained on this site is readily available through various print and internet sources. The information published on this site is provided strictly for the purpose of assisting in preparing for the Security + Certification exam. The information provided is accurate and up-to-date to the best of my knowledge at the date it was published. Zymitry does not offer any guarantee or warranty to its accuracy. Use this information at your own risk. See full Disclaimer.


Current Version

As of December, 2016, the current Security+ version is Security+ SY0-401. There is speculation that version Security+ SY0-501 should be released December, 2017.


General Characteristics

Exam DescriptionCompTIA Security+ certification covers network security, compliance and operation security, threats and vulnerabilities as well as application, data and host security. Also included are access control, identity management, and cryptography.
Type of QuestionsMultiple choice and performance-based
Recommended ExperienceCompTIA Network+ and two years of experience in IT administration with a security focus
Passing Score750 (on a scale of 100-900)
Number of QuestionsMaximum of 90 questions
Length of Test90 Minutes
LanguagesEnglish, Japanese and Portuguese


Hierarchy and Presentation

The provided information is broken out into domains defined by CompTIA. Each domain is then broken down further into detailed categories and sub-categories covering all areas specified by CompTIA.

CompTIA Security+ Certification Domains:

  • Network Security
  • Compliance and Operational Security
  • Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • Application, Data and Host Security
  • Access Control and Identity Management
  • Cryptography



Acronyms used in this material can be found here.



CompTIA Security+ General Information

CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam Objectives


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *